Lord Taylor leaves Defra as new ministers appointed


Two new ministers have been appointed to Defra with Lord Taylor leaving his post.

Lord de Mauley and David Heath MP have joined the department, although it is not as yet clear what roles they will hold and who in the department will have the waste and recycling brief.


They join newly appointed Environment Secretary Owen Paterson and existing minister Richard Benyon who remains the department.

Lord de Mauley’s family have a background in farming and he has been a Government whip in the Lords since 2010 as well as a spokesman on environment, food and rural affairs. In opposition, he also held a number of briefs serving as Shadow Business Minister. He sits on the Conservative benches.

David Heath MP is the first Liberal Democrat to serve as a minister in Defra. He is MP for Somerton and Frome, which is a rural area dominated by agriculture.

He previously served as Deputy Leader of the House.